h1

What’s the big deal with that poutine?!

February 28, 2008


Photo by Roboppy


“You should try the Elvis”, “You can’t judge it until you have tried a classic”, “It seems to hit just the right spot when you are either drunk or hung over!” “Go to La Banquise”.

I had my first poutine not too long ago. After a night of dancing and drinking all the well-meaning advice of how I could lose my poutine-virginity in the best and most tasteful way sprang into mind. I went into it open-minded, but I must say that I don’t understand what the fuss is about.

Poutine has a long history, but I guess all Montrealers know that… For all the uninitiated out there I can sum it up to this: French fries with gravy and cheese curds.

Being faced with one of Canada’s, and Quebec’s in particularly, national dishes I must say that I blinked twice when the plate of brown confusion was placed in front of me. I would normally prefer my fries as crispy as possible and the gravy as brown and thick as possible. And the two things not mixed together. The cheese I would not complain about.

So it was a cultural experience for me and my taste buds, when I ate the first soft French frie soaked in light-brown gravy and half melted cheese. But when in Montreal do as the Montrealers, and I must say after haven researched on and written this blogpost I might give poutine a second chance. It actually sounds kind of good.

3 comments

  1. I don’t understand the fuss over poutine either.
    (I’m Canadian, but from Out West, which makes me an exotic alien. Or something.)

    Since moving to Montreal 3-ish years ago, I have been peer-pressured on a number of occasions to sample various poutines. They all left me feeling queasy (as does much of the heavy-on-the-grease traditional Quebec “cuisine”.

    I want to like poutine, but – I cannot. It’s disgusting. I’m with you – fries should be crip, not soggy.

    The best poutine I have ever had in my 30+ years was in a crappy pub in Edmonton, Alberta.


  2. You should eat poutine at “Frites Alors” on St Laurent. The one with ground meet is amazing!!


  3. I love poutine!!! The best time to eat it, is when you left the club and you are completely drunk ;o) You do not think about the calories…. ;o)



Leave a Reply

